26 Hours and counting!

Day one of being FB free on my personal page has gone better than expected!! I really thought I would be going through withdrawals and cave but I haven’t. It has actually been pretty easy. Maybe it’s because of all the drama in the world right now and the negativity on my wall that I just don’t want to be bothered with it!

But the most important thing about this is that I’ve honestly felt less stressed today even though with all of the moving stuff going on you think I would. I feel eerily calmer than I have since we put the house on the market. Now that may change within the next 4 days but hopefully it won’t and it’ll be smooth sailing mentally, physically and emotionally.

I do think not keeping up with everyone’s life on FB has helped tremendously. I don’t feel pressured to keep up with everyone, their moods, their life, their pictures, the quotes, the ads, basically all of it. I am not feeling like I have to be the good friend and follower “liking” everything. It’s ridiculous that I ever felt that way but I guess I felt like I needed self validation on everything and I wanted to return the favor. Crazy isn’t it? We live in a world where we feel everyone has to like everything we do in all aspects of our life.

I am not knocking FB completely because the memories that pop up on my feed make me smile and remind me of people and places that I may have just vaguely remembered. However, they sometimes make me sad when they return with lost loved ones.

It’s a double edged sword. Damned if you do, damned if you don’t. And of course I miss seeing the daily positive posts from friends, their humor and pictures of their families/pets. But right now the bad outweighs the good of keeping up with it all.

At the end of the day all I am saying for me personally it’s been a positive thing. Maybe you should give it a whirl if you’re feeling the pressure of the current events going on in the world are stressing you out. You’re feeling upset over trivial things or depression/anxiety are kicking in. I promise your mental health and well being will thank you! And you can’t forget about the extra time spent with your family and your full attention on them is priceless.

Leave a comment